Why can I only take 2 to 3 photos on my iPhone instead of 5?

It is possible that the “Live Photos” feature is turned on, in your iPhone. This is usually the factory default setting for the Camera App on the device.

Due to the complexity behind a “Live Photo” and its ability to record “what happens 1.5 seconds before and after you take a picture”, the file size of these images are larger than one taken without the feature turned on.

As a result, your pre-inspection or completion photo allowance lessens from the ordinary limit of 5 photos.  

How to turn off Live Photos

Step 1

Navigate to the Camera app on your iPhone.

Step 2

Tap the Live Photos button Unknown.png to turn off Live Photos. A slash through the Live Photos button indicates the feature is off.

Screen_Shot_2020-05-01_at_12.57.32_pm.png

Step 3

The Camera app turns Live Photos on again automatically. To keep Live Photos off permanently, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Tap Camera > Preserve Settings.
  3. Make sure that the switch next to Live Photos is turned on.

Screen_Shot_2020-05-01_at_1.01.32_pm.png 

You can find information on Live Photos at the Apple Support page here. 

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 3 found this helpful